Shortlisted for the Saltire Society Literary Awards

  09 Nov '19   |  Posted by: Jan Rutherford

The Birlinn team is delighted to have five titles shortlisted this year across the Saltire Society Literary Awards.

Saltire History Book of the Year:

  • Alexander III: 1249-1286, First Among Equals  by Norman H. Reid 
  • The Sea Kings: The Late Norse Kingdoms of Man and the Isles c.1066–1275by R.A McDonald

Saltire Non-Fiction Book of the Year

  • Jane Haining: A Life of Love and Courage by Mary Miller

The Callum Macdonald Memorial Award:

  • Iona Lee: Polygon New Poets by Iona Lee

Saltire Poetry Book of the Year:

  • Moder Dy by Roseanne Watt

The annual Callum Macdonald Memorial Award is for the publisher of an outstanding example of pamphlet poetry published during the previous year. This is the first year that the CMMA has come under the Saltire Awards banner.

The judges said:
   ‘Here, the judges made special mention of the clever and contemporary design with excellent attention to typesetting – the use of white space and margins, choice of font – coupled with some wonderful poems. This is an excellent example of how a publisher can work to present a new poet to the world in an accessible and valued form.’

The winners of the awards will be announced on Sat 30 November 2019, St Andrew’s Day

Sarah Mason, Programme Director at the Saltire Society, said:

“We are proud of the fact that the Saltire Literary Awards shortlists celebrate the diversity, quality and richness of books to come from Scotland over the past year. The Saltire Literary Awards have a proud history of celebrating and bringing wider attention to excellence and we congratulate the writers and publishers who have been shortlisted this year.With the introduction of the Book Cover Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award we believe Scotland’s National Book Awards truely celebrate Scotland’s literary landscape. We look forward to celebrating our shortlistees and winners on St Andrew’s Day at our largest celebration ever.

  • Share:


Mountain Guru scoops major award

27 Mar '24
Mountain Guru: The Life of Doug Scott by Catherine Moorehead is the winner of the prestigious Kekoo Naorogi Award, 2024. Congratulations Catherine....
Read More