The Soul of Journey: The Mendelssohns in Scotland and Italy


Join author Diana Ambache to discuss ‘The Soul of the Journey: The Mendelssohns in Scotland and Italy’ at Westminster Music Library.

About this event

The Soul of the Journey: The Mendelssohns in Scotland and Italy by Diana Ambache is a carefully researched and beautifully illustrated book that combines letters and sketches from the travels of Felix and Fanny Mendelssohn around Europe. It is a wonderful celebration of the two Mendelssohns and a portrait of Scotland and Italy of the time as seen through the eyes of two of the Romantic movement’s most acclaimed composers.

Brother and sister Felix and Fanny Mendelssohn enjoyed a rare bond: they were intimate companions and theirs was one of the most significant musical relationships of the 19th century. They shared and commented on each other’s compositions, each highly appreciative of the other but also offering frank, critical advice. Their travels produced some great music – Felix’s best loved works, the Hebrides Overture and the Scottish Symphony, were inspired by his 1829 visit to Scotland, whilst Fanny’s innovative piano cycle Das Jahr was a musical response to the tour of Italy she made in 1839–40.

In this evening event with Westminster Music Library, Diana will explore the life, travels and works of Felix and Fanny Mendelssohn, complete with audio accompaniment. There will be time for discussion from the audience as well as the opportunity to purchase signed copies of this wonderful new publication.

  • Share:
Wednesday 19 Jan 2022
Westminster Music Library, London. United Kingdom