Back of the net! Three Birlinn books shortlisted for Sports Book Awards

  28 Apr '23   |  Posted by: Birlinn

We are delighted to share the news that three books published by Birlinn imprint Arena Sport have been shortlisted for the Sports Book Awards. The shortlists for these prestigious awards were announced this morning at 9am, featuring some of the most innovative and exciting voices in sports writing. We are very proud to publish ground-breaking sports writing across a wide range of sports and themes, and offer our huge congratulations to all our shortlisted authors.

Our shortlisted books are:

Dreaming the Impossible: The Battle to Create a Non-Racial Sports World by Mihir Bose shortlisted for the Best Sports Writing of the Year Award. Dreaming the Impossible is the definitive book on racism in British sports, answering the question as to whether we can get to a truly non-racial sports world. Featuring interviews with some of the biggest names in sport past and present and drawing on his extensive knowledge and own personal experiences, Mihir Bose examines the way racism has affected Black and Asian sportspeople and how attitudes have evolved over the past fifty years.

The Long Golden Afternoon: Golf’s Age of Glory 1864-1914 by Stephen Proctor shortlisted for the Best Sports Writing of the Year Award. The Long Golden Afternoon tells the story of the transformative generation of golf that followed the rise of Young Tom Morris – an era of sweeping change in rules and organisation that saw Scotland’s national pastime develop in popularity to become one of the rare games played around the world.

Unsuitable for Females: The Rise of the Lionesses and Women’s Football in England by Carrie Dunn shortlisted for Football Book of the Year. This book tells the story of women’s football in England since its 19th-century inception, through its ban as ‘quite unsuitable for females’ to the successes of today’s teams. Carrie Dunn traces the history of the game through pen portraits of its trailblazers: the legends of the game who built the foundations of the stage upon which today’s stars flourish.

The Sports Book Awards are run in association with the Sunday Times who will be covering the announcement in print and online, and over the next month the Awards will be coordinating a publicity campaign for all shortlisted books. Find out more about the Awards and see the full shortlists here.

The winners of all categories will be announced at an award ceremony on 24th May. We are keeping our fingers crossed for our authors!

  • Share:


Mountain Guru scoops major award

27 Mar '24
Mountain Guru: The Life of Doug Scott by Catherine Moorehead is the winner of the prestigious Kekoo Naorogi Award, 2024. Congratulations Catherine....
Read More