An Exciting Announcement: Riders on the Storm longlisted for Wainwright Prize for Writing on Global Conservation

  24 Jun '21   |  Posted by: Birlinn

We are delighted to share with you that Riders on the Storm: The Climate Crisis and the Survival of Being by Alastair McIntosh has been longlisted for the Wainwright Prize 2021 for Writing on Global Conservation. With the COP26 Climate Change Conference being hosted in Glasgow this year, and a focus on conservation at the G7 summit in Cornwall, it is clear that the issue of climate change is one of the greatest challenges facing mankind today. In Riders on the Storm, writer, scholar and broadcaster Alastair McIntosh sums up the present knowledge and shows that conventional solutions are not enough. In rejecting the blind alleys of climate change denial, exaggeration and false optimism, he offers a scintillating discussion of ways forward. 

‘McIntosh sees climate change as a threat which can be met. It presents us with risk and also with opportunity. This is a very good book because it is balanced and positive. There is no despair here’

The Scotsman

The Wainwright Prize has been seeking out the best voices in nature writing since 2014, and its prize for Writing in Global Conservation is now in its second year, having been won by Rebirding by Benedict Macdonald in 2020. The creation of this new category acknowledges that nature writing is inextricably linked with the themes of conservation and climate change, and we at Birlinn are very proud to shed a light on this topic with Riders on the Storm. Huge congratulations to Alastair on this achievement!

Alastair McIntosh is an independent writer, broadcaster, speaker and activist who is involved in a wide range of contemporary issues, from land reform, globalization and nonviolence to psychology, spirituality and ecology. He will be speaking on Climate Change and the Human Future in the Edinburgh Science Festival, “The Encampment of Eternal Hope”, at the Royal Botanic Gardens, 11am, Saturday 10th July. The event is free but you can book your slot here.

Find out more about the Wainwright Prize and see the full longlists on their website here.

Click here to read more about Riders on the Storm
  • Share:


Mountain Guru scoops major award

27 Mar '24
Mountain Guru: The Life of Doug Scott by Catherine Moorehead is the winner of the prestigious Kekoo Naorogi Award, 2024. Congratulations Catherine....
Read More

Perfect Passion in the News

27 Mar '24
Alexander McCall Smith’s The Perfect Passion Company is hitting the headlines, including selection by TWO of the leading UK women’s...
Read More